Congress named 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections

Congress named 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections

Courtesy : Agencies15/03/2019 07:23

The Congress on Wednesday named 21 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections from Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh including former ministers Sushil Kumar Shinde, Milind Deora, Sriprakash Jaiswal and Former MP Priva Dutt. The second list of Congress candidates includes five from Maharashtra.

The list, which also has 16 names from Uttar Pradesh, comes a day after Dalit powerhouse Mayawati explicitly ruled out any possibility of teaming up with the Congress, not just in Uttar Pradesh but in any state.

One of the 16 in the Congress list is former Bahujan Samaj Party lawmaker Kaisar Jahan who joined the party just last week. She will be the Congress candidate from Sitapur in eastern UP, a seat that she had won in 2009 as a BSP candidate. In 2014, she was the runner-up from this seat.

There were party veterans in the Congress list as well.

Such as Uttar Pradesh unit chief Raj Babbar who has been fielded from Moradabad and Sriprakash Jaiswal from Kanpur. Dalit leader Savitri Phule who had quit the ruling BJP just months earlier was also accommodated in the second list.

Wednesday’s list is seen to end hopes of the backchannel talks between the Congress and the Samajwadi Party-BSP combine getting anywhere in a hurry.

 The Congress had last week announced 11 candidates from Uttar Pradesh, a move that was seen by a section of the party to reflect hardening of the stance in the back and forth between the two opposition camps.

Wednesday’s list means the Congress has already named candidates on 27 seats including Congress president Rahul Gandhi’s Amethi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi’s Rae Bareli.

The Congress said it respects the SP-BSP alliance but wants to create a space for Congress’s ideology in the biggest of the states. “We respect that they (SP and BSP) have formed an alliance between themselves…But we want to create a space for Congress’s ideology in the biggest of the states; that is state of Uttar Pradesh and that is why we have decided to fight all seats,” senior Congress leader Randeep Surejwala said.

Uttar Pradesh sends 80 lawmakers to the Lok Sabha. In the BSP-SP seat sharing pact that has been announced, the Mayawati-Akhilesh team has already allocated 38 seats to the BSP, 37 to the SP and 3 to Ajit Singh’s Rashtriya Lok Dal.

The nomination of Rajya Sabha member Sanjay Sinh from Sultanpur indicates that the Congress will not follow the suggestions of a section of its leaders who were against giving tickets to sitting legislators and members of the Upper House. Sinh is the Rajya Sabha member from Assam and his term is set to expire on April 9, 2020.

The Congress has also given ticket to former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Kamalapati Tripathi’s great grandson Lalitesh Pati Tripathi from Mirzapur besides ex-MPs Ratna Singh (Pratapgarh) and Zafar Ali Naqvi (Kheri).

The party has announced five candidates from Maharashtra, fielding former union home minister Sushil Kumar Shinde from Solapur (reserved for Scheduled Castes), ex-union minister Milind Deora from Mumbai South, former Members of Parliament (MPs) Nana Patole from Nagpur against Union minister Nitin Gadkari and Priya Dutt from Mumbai North Central.

Prominent tribal leader Namdeo Dalluji Usendi has been fielded from Gadchiroli-Chimur seat.

If you have any comments, please click here

BJP less likely to field Muslim candidates in Rajasthan & MP: Party sources

Breaking News

State polls: BJP may field new faces in 50% seats in MP, C’garh, Rajasthan

Breaking News

Not Vasundhara Raje, rather President Amit Shah will take all the decisions of Rajasthan!

Breaking News

Fearing Defeat from Amethi, Rahul Gandhi to Contest Lok Sabha Elections from Karnataka As Well

Breaking News

Modi Govt Preparing for Partition of Jammu-Kashmir and Making Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh Union Territory

Breaking News

Party evaluating everyone's performance, no post is permanent: Modi to BJP CMs

Breaking News

BJP to form govt in jammu and Kashmir soon.

Breaking News

Modi-Shah Duo Preparing to Give a Jolt to Nitish Kumar

Breaking News

Priyanka, not Sonia, may contest next LS poll from Rae Bareli

Breaking News

Day after 3 TMC leaders resigned, Assam Cong leaders sound caution to party over NRC issue

Breaking News

Post a comment

Submit Comment